Being Insomniac

Let me be clear – this has got nothing to do with Enrique Iglesias or his album insomniac; although he used to be one of my favorite artistes once upon a time! This is about really being insomniac, like literally. We usually don’t give much thought to why we are not able to sleep at night, which could turn out to be a cause of concern at times. Some people joke about it by saying things like, “oh you can’t sleep at night? You must be in love!” (which is an absurd assumption, trust me). How can it be the only reason? Or lately I have heard a new logic that “legend says, if you can’t sleep at night it means you are awake in someone else’s dreams!” No matter how cute, adorable or lovely it may seem, I’m sure we all know it’s not the truth. Hence, let’s try to find out some real answers.

To begin with, I would like to state that I love my sleep. I don’t like anyone disturbing my sleep no matter what. But then also I feel insomniac most of the times. Proper sleep at proper time is the most important thing for a human body; just giving it rest so as to recharge for the next day. If you are sleep deprived then it’s a bad sign and you would be low on energy.

Being Insomniac may have tons of reasons, different for different people. But if we talk in general, most of the teenagers, youngsters and even elder people can face it. Just to be clear, I haven’t done any research, but have seen many people going through this problem. Yes, it can be a big problem if neglected for too long. Hence needs attention.

Now some of the reasons can be – thinking too much, not being able to finish off work, studies, peer-pressure and to sum it up: the most common reason is STRESS. The present lifestyle is such that it leads to things like sleeplessness and depression. And if we take a closer look, it’s almost a vicious circle of sorts; which is why insomnia is hard to get rid of.

So what should you do to get sleep on time? As far as I’m concerned, my usual time pass in such a case is listening to music. This has even increased my fondness for music – which has in fact become an essential part of my life. But lately this has stopped working as a lullaby. It might even sometime work in a totally opposite manner. Just depends on the genre of music you are listening to. Usually soft/light, slow tracks help you sleep better or faster. Back in my PG days, one such track on my playlist was “Fireflies – Owl city”.  And there was “Bella’s Lullaby” (so any instrumental would be just fine). It really helped me sleep most of the times.

Apart from music, one of the oldest techniques would definitely be Reading. Any kind of heavy or boring stuff can help anyone doze off! When I was a student, I was advised to read any of my course books which I used to find boring; as it’s supposed to induce sleep! Might help in some cases so definitely worth a try!

Surely there are many-many ways like: count sheep, drink warm milk, keep all your screen gadgets out of the bedroom and most importantly, relax. In the long run, real solution would be eating right and exercising (usually the solution for most of our problems!).

Recently I stumbled upon this article on the net. It’s about the 4-7-8 technique to fall asleep fast. Sharing the link. Might be of some help. Do let me know. 😉

http://www.byrdie.com/how-to-fall-asleep-fast

Still need more solutions? Keep reading this article again and again, and surely you would want to catch up with some sleep instead!!

Mission Accomplished!!!!!!!!! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Being Insomniac

  1. Unfortunately It didn’t work for me. I thought I was getting hypoxia xD So I was just rolling around till it was so late and the bird were chirping and I fell asleep to the sing-songs :p
    I’m gonna try the chamomile tea! Thanks for the advice

    Like

Leave a Reply

