My Choice. My Story

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Morton’s Fork.”

A Morton’s Fork is a specious piece of reasoning in which contradictory arguments lead to the same (unpleasant) conclusion.

Thank you Wikipedia for telling me the meaning!! Yes, I googled the topic before writing about it, sue me!!

Now, to choose between reading others blog or writing my own, I would definitely pick writing own. Oh wait, reading… no no writing, for sure. Ok yeah, writing. Decided!! Pheww….tough call.

I choose Writing. As for the why part of the question, I would have to tell you a story. My story.

Since I was a kid, I love the English language as a subject. I didn’t care about other subjects, just the one. So I always got top score in that subject. Every year, every class. I loved reading all the stories in the text books given to us at the beginning of an academic year. I would go through all of them even before the teacher could get to them in class. The satisfaction… inexplicable!
One time I even remember, while reciting lines from the play ‘A Christmas Carol’, I got so excited, I displayed full emotions and got really dramatic, that even my crush turned around and looked at me in surprise! (I was otherwise the shy girl, who didn’t speak much.) Totally worth it!

But apart from reading, I used to love the writing assignments as well. And then in 10th Grade, I wrote my first diary entry. Since then for about three years, I used to write daily entries religiously, but then gradually it declined. Don’t worry, it didn’t take me long to realize how much I missed that! That’s why am here… duh!

Writing in any form is happiness for me. To be able to express myself in text form, knowing that this is how I feel, and a few more years down the line, I would be able to read it and know how I felt, how I used to be, how i used to think, how I have changed, and maybe will have a good laugh or two! Or get emotional. Either way, it is and always will be, PRECIOUS.

Behind every diary entry, every post, every poem I ever wrote, there is a story. Together, they make memories. To be able to keep that in a tangible form, readable format, is more than amazing. Its everything.

Although it’s true, reading others blog gives me inspiration, gives me an opportunity to get to know people from across the globe, even makes me a better writer. I agree, it is an experience: one of its own kind. But what’s the point if I am not able to write about that experience!

Hey, I can find other ways of reading about other people, please don’t make me leave blogging….

Coz Am Addicted !! (both to writing my own blog and reading some of the other blogs) 😛
So please don’t make me choose, even hypothetically !!

2 thoughts on “My Choice. My Story

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Ketch-Up | My Trysts With Reality

  2. Although I am a writer, I don’t agree with your conclusion but I have to say it is a very well-written blog. I like your reasoning and the story that supports it, which tells the reader a bit about you in a short space.
    And I agree: let’s not ever have to face that awful choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

