Collection of Fav Poems

Writing201: Poetry Potluck

So the hush hush assignment for the weekend is to share your most favorite poem. Right now two come to mind. Interestingly both are letters with the same theme. Love!

Eloisa to Abelard

BY ALEXANDER POPE
tumblr_m4b4xr9UO91qduxeso1_500
This is the by far longest poem I ever came across! And yet so moving.
Basically sad.
Poem Form: Epistle.
Device: Couplet.
Most intriguing line/verse (for me) aka favorite part:
How shall I lose the sin, yet keep the sense,
And love th’ offender, yet detest th’ offence?
Most famous line/verse:
How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot.
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d;
I came across this poem through the movie ‘Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind’.
If you read it closely, you will be able to feel the intense emotions involved.

Immortal Beloved

By Ludwig van Beethoven

images (3)

Beethoven’s mysterious love letters/poem. This is a rather cute one.

Most intriguing line/verse (for me) aka favorite part:

Your love made me the happiest and unhappiest at the same time.
Most famous line/verse:
Ever thine.
Ever mine.
Ever ours.
Definitely one of the most romantic lines ever!

Other Favorite Verses

All of these have a special place in my heart since school time and have continued to intrigue and inspire me always. 🙂

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

All the World’s a Stage by William Shakespeare

All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts,

One thought on “Collection of Fav Poems

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Ketch-Up | My Trysts With Reality

Leave a Reply

