Ode to Little Treasures

Writing 201 Assignment
Prompt: Drawer
Form: Ode
Device: Apostrophe


I believe a lot can be known about a person by reading their creations especially poetry. Similarly a few things can be guessed about a person by going through their drawers! No m not kidding, this can rarely go wrong. But if someone wants to misguide you, then that’s a different case! ๐Ÿ˜‰

By the way I know I’m late on the assignments sorry about that. But I wasn’t feeling very well. In fact, I wrote the last poem with a pounding headache which almost felt like a migraine. Also my internet connection is giving me a hard time. Still I’ll try and post remaining assignments soon. Anyway so now I don’t even know whether this one qualifies as an ode or not and whether I have used apostrophe properly or not. You decide. Lemme know! Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

PS: This one’s unedited (not in the best shape)! Kindly bear ๐Ÿ˜€



ย Ode to Little Treasures

Can you keep a little secret?
Coz if you can, then lemme tell you mine.
About a special little palette
That’s filled with the most important colors, so very fine.
One place where I can keep them hidden from all.
I reach my hideout, first place I look.
I can tell what is where even with my eyes shut.
More often than not, here I find all solutions
What more shall I tell you about
Everything you will find here
Has a story of its own.
No matter it’s been kept in whichever zone.

Sadness is gone when I see the smiley ball.
Anger goes away when I hear my iPod
Feeling lonely?
The family of Teddy Bears come to the rescue
Huggy bear gives all the comfort I need
Beary bear takes all my worries away.
Gofer is a lucky charm, even though his color is blue
He doesn’t let me feel blue.
Siberian husky, although the mini version,
Is enough to bring back a huge smile across my face
Reminiscing about the fun time we spent
The child in me feels alive.

Oh look what I see! Blank pages?
Colorful pieces of graffiti!
Oh my little diary, how can I forget you.
You are the Jewel of the Nile.
The reason I fell in love with words.
My spiral mini writing pad, I keep with me a few
Most of them contain words of wisdom
You’ll find my collection of quotations.
Might even get a chance to look at my poetry
I wrote when I was younger
A fool for love I was
Which I’m still, but now I know better
At least, I would like to think so
As we all do! Don’t we?
So again, we’ll see.
C’est la vie.
La vie en rose isn’t meant to be.

Started feeling bitter?
Mini chocolate to the rescue
Ran out of the sin bar
Oreo will make you feel better.
That person was a genius
Who discovered cocoa.
All the brownies so chocolacious looking
Asks you every time, how you feeling
You’ll no longer feel grumpy
If you see the bear jumpy
All this makes me hearty happy!

What else didn’t I tell you about?
Maybe time to open up a little treasure.
This is my jewelry box, be gentle.
Handle with care, if you may
Some pieces are antique
A few even were souvenirs
Way to remember friends by.
Jewelry of all shapes and sizes and kind
You just can’t keep whatever you find!
All of them are close to my heart.
Even the funny friendship bracelets
Which I can’t ever wear
Or fashion police will kill me dear!

Call it attachment
Call it mania
Love the things I have
Miss the people who gave them
Love to have the memories
Few things might not define
Who I am or what I am
But they do tell I care
I won’t let anyone come in between us
I won’t grow apart
Of my life you’ll always be a part.
My Own
My Precious!

10 thoughts on “Ode to Little Treasures

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Ketch-Up | My Trysts With Reality

Leave a Reply

